Giving thanks for cookies …

AT THE RISK OF BEATING A DEAD HORSE, here’s another pumpkin recipe. These cookies got such rave reviews at Thanksgiving dinner that I just had to share this recipe. I have so many recipes on hand that I keep separate mental lists: to try now, to try later, to try yesterday. I will tell you, I wish I had not waited so long to try this one! It is absolutely the best cookie ever to have come out of my oven. Now don’t panic – I know it seems like an awfully lot of flour, but trust me. You want the batter to be stiff so that the cookies come out nice and dense. Don’t worry about them getting dried out – the canned pumpkin takes care of that. It is truly one of the most amazing ingredients out there. Feel free to mix up the nuts as well – the original recipe called for pecans but I used walnuts as I’m not really a pecan kind of girl. You could also use regular chocolate chips; I found the white chocolate to add a fabulous sweetness without being overpowering. I love to use recipes as a guideline. Sometimes I add whatever I think will taste good and if I hate it, I make a note of it and I never do it that way again. Cooking is an adventure and it will take you as far as you want to go. Treat it as such and you might just fall in love. 🙂

~Sam~

White Chocolate Walnut Pumpkin Cookies

Ingredients:

–          2 ½ sticks unsalted butter, softened to room temperature (I left mine on the counter overnight)

–          1 ¾ cups packed light brown sugar

–          2 tsp ground nutmeg

–          1 ½ tsp baking soda

–          1 29oz can pure pumpkin

–          2 eggs

–          1 tbsp vanilla extract

–          4 cups all purpose flour

–          18 oz white chocolate chips (1 ½ bags)

–          1 ½ cups chopped walnuts

Directions:

1)      Heat oven to 350. Using the stand mixer on medium-high speed, cream the butter until smooth, about 30-40 seconds. Add brown sugar, nutmeg, and baking soda. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Add the eggs one at a time, pumpkin, and vanilla. Beat until combined. With the mixer on low speed, gradually add the flour until all the flour is incorporated. Stir in nuts and white chocolate chips.

2)      Drop the dough by rounded tablespoonfuls (or using a cookie scoop – I have the medium stainless steel scoop from Pampered Chef and it is absolutely perfect) onto parchment lined baking sheets. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until the edges are firm. Cool on baking sheets 2-3 minutes, then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

