Cake Batter Rice Krispie Treats

Last week at this time I was getting ready and packing for my cousin’s wedding.  In the mean time, I’m thinking to myself that I really want something sweet to take with me in the car, but given that it was almost midnight I wasn’t prepared to be up all night cooking.  I actually had to be lucid for my teacher inservice, so I couldn’t afford to stay up late.  Enter the latest:  Cake Batter Rice Krispie Treats.

Yes, indeed.  You read correctly.  Cake batter. Krispies.  I can hear your inner child screaming in sugared glee.

And it’s not like this took any additional effort.  Most everyone has made rice krispie treats at one time.  They’re a common bake sale staple from a harried mom whose child informs them the night before that they need something sweet and sugary for tomorrow.  Having no kids myself, I was indulging my own childhood and keeping in mind that the teachers who came into my room might take my ramblings a little more calmly if they had something in their hands to nosh on.

It worked!  The plate was gone before I could take the leftovers in the car with me, and I couldn’t be happier about it.  Plus, we all know that you could do worse on the waistline than eat a Krispie treat.  I’m posting the basic recipe, but feel free to top it as you’d like or make it yours. Your kids and the kids-at-heart will thank you.  😉

Cake Batter Rice Krispie Treats

  • 3 TBSP butter
  • 6 cups crispy rice cereal
  • 1 – 10 oz bag of mini marshmallows
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup dry funfetti cake mix
  • One small container of colorful sprinkles

Here’s a tip before you get started:  spray your spatula/spoon and your pot with non-stick cooking spray.  You won’t have as much issue with the marshmallows sticking.  You can spray a little oil on your hands, too, if you want to press the treats into the pan manually.  Be mindful that the mixture will be very warm coming out of the pot, so be careful (I have to include the reality check here).

Grab a large soup pot to give yourself plenty of room.  Melt your butter over low heat, then add the entire bag of marshmallows.  Stir until the marshmallows start to melt.  A tablespoon at a time, add your dry cake mix and stir into the marshmallows until well incorporated.  Add your vanilla and mix a minute more to release the flavors.  Add your cereal and, if you want, some of your colorful confetti sprinkles to add additional color to the treats.  Once your treats have been mixed well, gently press them into an 8″x8″ pan or a 9″x13″ pan (depending on how thick you want them) and generously sprinkle the top with more of your sprinkles.  It looks like a party in a pan!  Cool for at least a half hour before you cut them (do your best not to cheat).

Enjoy, and happy cooking!

— Sarah

Leave a Reply

